Hero Home Inspection Joined the ICC


About ICC

The International Code Council is a member-focused association. It is dedicated to developing model codes and standards used in the design, build and compliance process to construct safe, sustainable, affordable and resilient structures. Most U.S. communities and many global markets choose the International Codes.

The International Codes®, or I-Codes®, published by ICC, provide minimum safeguards for people at home, at school and in the workplace. The I-Codes are a complete set of comprehensive, coordinated building safety and fire prevention codes. Building codes benefit public safety and support the industry’s need for one set of codes without regional limitations.

Fifty states and the District of Columbia have adopted the I-Codes at the state or jurisdictional level. Federal agencies including the Architect of the Capitol, General Services Administration, National Park Service, Department of State, U.S. Forest Service and the Veterans Administration also enforce the I-Codes. The Department of Defense references the International Building Code® for constructing military facilities, including those that house U.S. troops around the world and at home. Amtrak uses the International Green Construction Code® for new and extensively renovated sites and structures. Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands enforce one or more of the I-Codes.

Vision & Mission

Vision: Protect the health, safety and welfare of people by creating safe buildings and communities.

Mission: To provide the highest quality codes, standards, products and services for all concerned with the safety and performance of the built environment.


Customer Value
Integrity and Trust
Member Focus
Public Service


The International Code Council (ICC) was established in 1994 as a non-profit organization dedicated to developing a single set of comprehensive and coordinated national model construction codes. The founders of the ICC are Building Officials and Code Administrators International, Inc. (BOCA), International Conference of Building Officials (ICBO), and Southern Building Code Congress International, Inc. (SBCCI). Since the early part of the last century, these non-profit organizations developed three separate sets of model codes used throughout the United States. Although regional code development has been effective and responsive to our country’s needs, the time came for a single set of codes. The nation’s three model code groups responded by creating the International Code Council and by developing codes without regional limitations; the International Codes.

ICC Family of Companies

The International Code Council (ICC) Family of Companies includes the ICC Evaluation Service (ICC-ES), the Solar Rating & Certification Corporation (SRCC) and the International Accreditation Service (IAS), which are dedicated to the construction of safe, sustainable, affordable and resilient structures. (more)


The ICC has developed and made available a comprehensive and coordinated set of International Codes, including:

International Building Code
International Energy Conservation Code
International Existing Building Code
International Fire Code
International Fuel Gas Code
International Green Construction Code
International Mechanical Code
ICC Performance Code
International Plumbing Code
International Private Sewage Disposal Code
International Property Maintenance Code
International Residential Code
International Swimming Pool and Spa Code
International Wildland Urban Interface Code
International Zoning Code
Services of the ICC

The International Code Council offers unmatched technical, educational and informational products and services in support of the International Codes, with more than 250 highly qualified staff members at offices throughout the United States. Some of the products and services readily available to code users include:

Code application assistance
Educational programs
Certification programs
Technical handbooks and workbooks
Plan review Services
Digital products
Online magazines and newsletters
Building Safety Career Assistance
Code Development

ICC develops construction and public safety codes through the governmental consensus process. This system of code development has provided the citizens of the U.S. the highest level of safety in the world for more than 80 years. The ICC governmental consensus process meets the principles defined by the National Standards Strategy of 2000; OMB Circular A-119, Federal Participation in the Development and Use of Voluntary Consensus Standards and in Conformity Assessment Activities (1998). It complies with Public Law 104-113 National Technology Transfer and Advancement Act of 1995.

cdpACCESS In the 2015-2018 Code Cycle, ICC has fully implemented the cdpACCESS online cdpaccess2code development portal for all those interested in participating in the code development process. For more information on cdpACCESS and how to submit and comment on code change proposals, collaborate with peers and to vote, please visit the cdpACCESS.com.

Leave a Reply